Traffic tickets add points to a driver’s license, and the number of points is based on the type of violation. Non-moving violations in Georgia, such as parking tickets, commonly do not add points. However, there are several types of moving violations that add points to a license.
All states make distracted driving against the law, so a driver can be cited for taking their focus off the road. Many states forbid texting, reading texts, changing the radio or talking on cellphones, even hands-free phones, for certain types of drivers.
Georgie allows the use of hands-free devices, but no part of the body can touch it under new distracted driving laws. Drivers who violate this law commonly must pay a $150 fine and get one point added to their license.
Speeding is among the most common moving violations, and it can involve three types: absolute, basic and presumed. Absolute speed means drivers can get issued a ticket for driving even slightly over the limit.
Presumed speed limits allow drivers to drive faster, if the conditions allow it, such as in low traffic. Basic speed law means the driver may get ticketed for driving below the speed limit if it inhibits traffic flow. The amounts of the speeding ticket commonly vary by county in Georgia, and it can raise insurance rates.
DUI, or driving under the influence, is a serious moving violation that can result in suspended licenses, fines and jail time. Most states consider drivers intoxicated when they reach a certain BAC, or blood alcohol content, which includes controlled substances.
In Georgia, if a driver registers 0.08 BAC or above on a Breathalyzer, they can get charged with DUI. A first DUI in Georgia commonly includes penalties of a maximum of a one-year jail term, one-year license suspension and a $1,000 fine.
Challenging a traffic ticket
For minor traffic violations, the driver usually pays the court fine or challenges the ticket. However, if drivers believe that the charges are unjust for a serious offense, they can still challenge it.