When you get arrested for a DUI for the first time, as long as you don’t cause an accident or any problems on the road, the Georgia criminal court might take it easy on you by imposing lenient punishment like a day in prison or a $300 fine. However, if you commit the same crime again, things could get a little rough.
A first-time DUI offense could be taken as a mistake, and with a good defense, you might be able to avoid grave penalties. But when you do it the second time, the judge could view it as a pattern of bad behavior or see you as a threat to the public. Therefore, your next punishment would be given with the aim of deterring you and others from driving under the influence in Georgia again.
Stricter possible penalties
Just like with the first offense, you will likely be arrested and taken to jail if your BAC is 0.08% or higher. However, there are a few key differences between a first and second DUI offense in Georgia. For example, with a second offense, you can expect one or more of the following penalties to be imposed:
- Installation of an ignition interlock device in your car at your own expense
- Mandatory minimum jail time of 72 hours as opposed to 24 hours for a first offense
Besides the legal penalties, your life in general could also be affected after a second DUI conviction. For example, you could have trouble finding a job, get fired from your current job or be denied professional licenses. You may also struggle to find affordable car insurance. This is why going through your case to find the proper defenses to use is extremely valuable.